RB Hall of Fame Archives - 2015

This page contains photographs and news stories for members
in the year they were inducted into the RB Hall of Fame.

Please scroll down the page and enjoy.

New members Dave Brooks, Scott Lawn, and Jay Riordan
were honored at the Induction Gala Dinner on May 21st, 2016 at the Bernardo Heights Country Club.
From The Rancho Bernardo News Journal
Rancho Bernardo Hall of Fame inducts trio during gala
Jay Riordan, Scott Lawn and Dave Brooks are honored.
By Elizabeth Marie Himchak1:05 p.m.May 25, 2016

Rancho Bernardo Hall of Fame members welcomed three more into their ranks on Saturday night during the organization’s annual gala at the Bernardo Heights Country Club.

Dave Brooks, Scott Lawn and Jay Riordan were formally welcomed as the 2016 inductees, recognized for their years of volunteerism in the community. They received several accolades from the area’s political representatives in addition to their formal plaques and other recognition items.

The RB Hall of Fame, established in 1974, honors long-time community volunteers who have provided years of significant leadership to the community. The trio are the 110th, 111th and 112th honorees.

Brooks is 2016 Spirit of the Fourth president. He has served in various leadership roles for 14 years, including parade chairman for a decade. He has also been a Rotarian for 15 years, was 2012-13 Rancho Bernardo Rotary Club president and since 2013 been Rotary District 5340 assistant district governor. Brooks’ other volunteerism includes senior flu shot program chairman at Rancho Bernardo Senior Services, Rancho Bernardo Community Foundation board member for five years, Pathway of Pride fundraiser chairman and Cub Scout Pack 686 den leader from 1998-2002.

The Ohio native moved to the area in 1990. He is a former Poway resident who now lives in Santaluz and his parents, the late Bob and Barbara Brooks, were longtime Poway residents. He has two adult sons, Adam and Byron, and retired from his career as a chemical engineer at Hewlett-Packard in 2000.

Lawn initiated and led the Save Webb Lake campaign. Within months, around $100,000 was raised late last year so a well could be drilled in Webb Park to prevent the lake’s removal due to the drought. Drilling is expected to begin soon. His other volunteer efforts include being Rancho Bernardo Business Association president since 2014, Rancho Bernardo Community Foundation officers, Rancho Bernardo Community Thanksgiving Luncheon chairman for three years and 2012 RB Honorary Mayor.

The Illinois native has lived in Rancho Bernardo since 1986 and operated his Poway-based Greenway Lawn Aeration company for 24 years. He has two adult sons, Bradford and Alex, and two grandchildren.

Riordan was chairman of the Poway OnStage Board of Directors from 2012-14 and a board member since 2007. Poway OnStage is the Poway Center for the Performing Arts’ non-profit foundation. Other volunteer efforts have included being chairman of the Poway Center for the Performing Arts Foundation Business Council (2010-12), chairman of Rancho Bernardo Sunrise Rotary Club’s Housebuilding Projects Committee and serving on the Casa de las Campanas Board of Directors and Casa de las Campanas Foundation. His efforts include being Casa’s construction committee chairman for the past three years and guiding its $100 million reconstruction. He was also a Rancho Bernardo Community Council president.

Riordan; his wife, Brenda; and their now-adult sons, Patrick and Christopher, moved to Rancho Bernardo in 1997, where he based his business, Dream Design Builders. About a year ago the now-empty nesters moved to Escondido.

Here are our new members with prior years inductees present at the Gala.

Each honorees was awarded certificates by Supervisor Dave Roberts and City Councilmember Brian Kersey
Dave Brooks

Scott Lawn

Jay Riordan

The following photos are from the Rancho Bernardo News Journal, by Elizabeth Marie Himchak

The Riordan family. Glenda Edwards, Patrick Riordan, Christopher Riordan,Brenda Riordan, and Jay Riordan (2016)

The Lawn family. Back row: Alan Lawn, Scott Lawn (2016), Desiree Lawn, and Brad Lawn. Front row: Cindy Pearson, Calvin Lawn and Karen Lawn

The Brooks family. Gerri Brooks, Bryon Brooks, Janet DiPrinzio, Dave Brooks (20016), Allen Brooks, and Adam Brooks

Bob Lange with Hall of Fame members Don Gragg (2007) and George Cooke (2003)

Larry Saunders and April Mitchell

Debbie Kurth and Cindy Pearson

Hall of Fame Committee Members: Robin Kaufman (2004), Jane Radatz (2003), and Vicki Touchstone (2001) with Beverly Judge.

Trudy Armstrong with Nancy Canfield (2015)

Shirley Black (2015), Joan Ballard, and Richard Mason (2013)

Hilda Teel, Janie Ramshaw, Patti Hall, and Maureen Rouleau